Wk 13 – Artist Conversation – Krystal Ramirez

Exhibition Information

Artist: Krystal Ramirez

Exhibition: La Cena Esta Servida / Dinner is Served

Media: Metals

About the Artist

Krystal is a 3D media: Metals and Jewerly design major. She is a senior at CSULB. She used to do drawing and painting, but she took a jewelry class and loved it. She is originally from Huntington, so she is from around the area. She said she loves her major because she gets to make her own jewerly or make it for her friends! I would love it too. She has an outgoing personality and her major suits her well.

Formal Analysis

Abviously, her art work is about dinner. There are dining utensils on the table with metal plates. Her art pieces are distinct and they have exact theme. One can easily tell that her work is about dining table that is ready to be served. Texture of her art is hard since it is metals but the shapes are sharp and acute. All the pieces resemble real dining utensils.

Content Analysis

Krystal describes dining table as a place of enlightenment, conviciality, and nostalgia. She claims that the place was always served as a sacred place at home. She also demonstrates it as a center of home in which I strongly agree with. Dining table is where everyone gathers around at and have a good time. It is where important decisions are made, confrontations occurred, and truths are shared, according to Krystal. I was admired by her insight and point of view, because I did not consider dinner tables as important.

Synthesis

Before visiting her gallery, dining tables meant a place to eat to me. It was nothing special and it was just a place where I eat everyday. But after visiting her, it occurred to me that dining tables are the center of home. Our family discussed important things while eating everyday and eating together at home is the happiest time of my day. I did not realize it until now. I really enjoyed her art gallery and I will regard dining table as something more special rather than just a place to eat.

Leave a comment