Wk 10 – Artist Conversation – Clare Samani

 

Exhibition Information

Clare Samani

Dressed

SOA Galleries

About the Artist

Clare is a printmaking major and she is a senior at CSULB. She is originally from the Valley, and she was born in Southern California. She has been doing art for 4-5 years now. She wants to pursue her dream in art in the future, probably in printmaking.

Formal Analysis

Her art pieces, which are printed clothes on a paper, are actual sizes of her clothes. Each piece has one color theme and they range from dull to bright color. The texture is a bit rough, because the garments are pressed and you can see the linings and crumpled markings of them.

Content Analysis

Clare values the meaning of garments. She thinks that a person’s choice of garments may speak to either that person’s own vision of self or what the person wishes others to view as his or her self. Her work focuses on exploring the symbolism and identity inextricably intertwined with people and clothing. It also centers around the exploration and communication of self, gender, through fashion.

Synthesis

I was fascinated by her explanation of her art work: garments. Before viewing this gallery, I did not give any deeper meaning to the choice of garments of what I wear. Now that I think of it, I think it really represents myself each day. When I am feeling dull, I wear darker clothes and when I am happy I wear bright colored clothes. I really enjoyed her gallery and it changed my perspective in garments.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

