Wk 7 – Artist Conversation – Elena Roznovan

Artist: Elena Roznovan
Exhibition: Stop & Stare
Media: Installations, Video,
Gallery: CSULB SOA Gallery

About the Artist

Elena is a second year Sculpture major. She is currently enrolled in CSULB MFA program. She did her undergrad at Maryland Institute, College of Art. Prior to CSULB, she used to work with electronic, interactional installations. She wanted to come to the West Coast, for her major.

Formal Analysis

She used optical pops, installations, video, and used transparency to reduce glare and filters. Her work has a 12 minute video of sunrise and the place is a deserted area. The spatial scale is quite accurate, although the resolution is not. The abstract light box is to emphasize the landscape. Her work is all about light and space.

Content Analysis

Her art work is about time and light. On a deeper level, she wanted to emphasize the opposition to current fast paste life. It investigate concepts of phenomenology, time and the way images are constructed. She wanted to challenge the viewer’s perception and expectations regarding moving pictures and the spaces which they are inhabiting. She claims that the moving image is a technology mediated 2D window containing 4D content that is a representation of a 3D experience.

Synthesis

I felt like I was there at the deserted area, watching a sunrise before me. And as the time went on, the video was slowly changing and it amazed me. It felt kind of lonely and dull, but I liked it. I think everyone’s life is all about loneliness, time, and space. I was kind of meditating as I was watching her art work, resonating to my current life. I think it can be related to anyone, because everyone is lonely. But her work encouraged me in some ways and I really enjoyed her work.

 

 

Leave a Reply

